MRSEC-Supported Publications

March 2015 - July 2015

Shared Facilities




a. Primary MRSEC Support—IRG 1

  1. U. Singh, and S. Adenwalla, “Spatial mapping of focused surface acoustic waves in the investigation of high frequency strain induced changes,” Nanotechnology 26, 255707 [10 pages] (2015). Editor's Choice with a news release at Nano-cartography: http://
  2. D. A. Kunkel, J. Hooper, S. Simpson, D. Miller, L. Routaboul, P. Braunstein, B. Doudin, P. Dowben, R. Skomski, E. Zurek, and A. Enders, “Self-assembly of strongly dipolar molecules on metal surfaces,” J. Chem. Phys. 142, 101921 [9 pages] (2015).
  3. S. Knight, S. Schöche, V. Darakchieva, P. Kühne, J.-F. Carlin, N. Grandjean, C. M. Herzinger, M. Schubert, and T. Hofmann, “Cavity-enhanced optical Hall effect in two-dimensional free charge carrier gases detected at terahertz frequencies,” Opt. Lett. 40, 2688-2691 (2015).
  4. P. Wilson, A. Lipatov, D. Schmidt, E. Schubert, M. Schubert, A. Sinitskii, and T. Hofmann, “Structural and optical properties of cobalt slanted nanopillars conformally coated with few-layer graphene,” Appl. Phys. Lett. 106, 231901 [5 pages] (2015).
  5. S. Cao, T. R. Paudel, K. Sinha, X. Jiang, W. Wang, E. Y. Tsymbal, X. Xu, and P. A. Dowben, “The stability and surface termination of hexagonal LuFeO3,” J. Phys.: Condens. Matter 27, 175004 [7 pages] (2015).

b. Partial MRSEC Support—IRG 1

  1. L. Fallarino, C. Binek, and A. Berger, “Boundary magnetization properties of epitaxial Cr2-xAlxO3 thin films,” Phys. Rev. B 91, 214403 [8 pages] (2015).
  2. L. Fallarino, A. Berger, and C. Binek, “Magnetic field induced switching of the antiferromagnetic order parameter in thin films of magnetoelectric chromia,” Phys. Rev. B 91, 054414 [7 pages] (2015).
  3. S. Cao, N. Wu, W. Echtenkamp, V. Lauter, H. Ambaye, T. Komesu, C. Binek, and P. A. Dowben, “The surface stability of Cr2O3(0001),” J. Phys.: Condens. Matter 27, 255003 [6 pages] (2015).
  4. D. Le, A. Barinov, E. Preciado, M. Isarraraz, I. Tanabe, T. Komesu, C. Troha, L. Bartels, T. S. Rahman, and P. A. Dowben, “Spin-orbit coupling in the band structure of monolayer WSe2,” J. Phys.: Condens. Matter (Fast Track Communications) 27, 182201 [5 pages] (2015).
  5. A. Nguyen, P. Sharma, T. Scott, E. Preciado, V. Klee, D. Sun, I.-H. Lu, D. Barroso, S. Kim, V. Y. Shur, A. R. Akhmatkhanov, A. Gruverman, L. Bartels, and P. A. Dowben, “Toward ferroelectric control of monolayer MoS2,” Nano Lett. 15 (5), 3364-3369 (2015).
  6. L. Zhang, H. J. Gardner, X. G. Chen, V. R. Singh, and X. Hong, “Strain induced modulation of the correlated transport in epitaxial Sm0.5Nd0.5NiO3 thin films,” J. Phys.: Condens. Matter (Fast Track Communications) 27, 132201 [7 pages] (2015).


a. Primary MRSEC Support—IRG 2

  1. S. Chen, A. Enders, and X. C. Zeng, “Influence of structural fluctuations, proton transfer, and electric field on polarization switching of supported two-dimensional hydrogen-bonded oxocarbon monolayers,” Chem. Mater. 27 (13), 4839-4847 (2015).
  2. A. Sokolov, O. Bak, H. Lu, S. Li, E. Y. Tsymbal and A. Gruverman, “Effect of epitaxial strain on tunneling electroresistance in ferroelectric tunnel junctions,” Nanotechnology 26, 305202 [7 pages] (2015).
  3. H.-J. Feng, T. R. Paudel, E. Y. Tsymbal, and X. C. Zeng, “Tunable optical properties and charge separation in CH3NH3SnxPb1−xI3/TiO2‑based planar perovskites cells,” J. Am. Chem. Soc. 137, 8227-8236 (2015).
  4. P. Sharma, S. Ryu, J. D. Burton, T. R. Paudel, C. W. Bark, Z. Huang, Ariando, E. Y. Tsymbal, G. Catalan, C. B. Eom, and A. Gruverman, “Mechanical tuning of LaAlO3/SrTiO3 interface conductivity,” Nano Letters 15, 3547-3551 (2015).
  5. J. Dai and X. C. Zeng, “Titanium Trisulfide monolayer: Theoretical prediction of a new direct-gap semiconductor with high and anisotropic carrier mobility,” Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 54, 7572 -7576 (2015).

b. Partial MRSEC Support—IRG 2

  1. Y.-Y. Choi, P. Sharma, C. Phatak, D. J. Gosztola, Y. Liu, J. Lee, J. Li, A. Gruverman, S. Ducharme, and S. Hong, “Enhancement of local piezoresponse in polymer ferroelectrics via nanoscale control of microstructure,” ACS Nano 9 (2), 1809-1819 (2015).
  2. T. Shimizu, T. Yokouchi, T. Oikawa, T. Shiraishi, T. Kiguchi, A. Akama, T. J. Konno, A. Gruverman, and H. Funakubo, “Contribution of oxygen vacancies to the ferroelectric behavior of Hf0.5Zr0.5O2 thin films,” Appl. Phys. Lett. 106, 112904 [5 pages] (2015).
  3. P. Wilson, A. Zobel, A. Lipatov, E. Schubert, T. Hofmann, and A. Sinitskii, “Multilayer graphitic coatings for thermal stabilization of metallic nanostructures, ACS Appl. Mater. Interfaces 7 (5), 2987-2992 (2015).
  4. A. Lipatov, P. Wilson, M. Shekhirev, J. Teeter, R. Netusil, and A. Sinitskii, “Few-layer titanium trisulfide (TiS3) field-effect transistors, Nanoscale 7, 12291-12296 (2015).
  5. C. X. Quintela, J. P. Podkaminer, M. N. Luckyanova, T. R. Paudel, E. L. Thies, D. A. Hillsberry, D. A. Tenne, E. Y. Tsymbal, G. Chen, C.-B. Eom, and F. Rivadulla, “Epitaxial CrN thin films with high thermoelectric figure of merit,” Adv. Mat. 27, 3032-3037 (2015).
  6. Y. Xu, J. Dai, and X. C. Zeng, “Electron-transport properties of few-layer black phosphorus,” J. Phys. Chem. Lett. 6, 1996-2002 (2015).
  7. M. Wu, H. Fu, L. Zhou, K. Yao, and X. C. Zeng, “Nine new phosphorene polymorphs with non-honeycomb structures: A much extended family,” Nano Lett. 15, 3557-3562 (2015).


a. Primary MRSEC Support—Seeds

b. Partial MRSEC Support—Seeds

  1. A. Kovalev and U. Güngördü, “Magnetization pumping and dynamics in a Dzyaloshinskii-Moriya magnet,” EPL 109, 67008 [6 pages] (2015).

Shared Facilities

  1. D. Shi, V. Adinolfi, R. Comin, K. Katsiev, E. Alarousu, Y. Chen, S. Hoogland, M. Yuan, A. Rothenberger, Y. Losovyj, X. Zhang, P. A. Dowben, O. F. Mohammed, E. H. Sargent, and O. M. Bakr, “Low trap-state density and long carrier diffusion in organolead trihalide perovskite single crystals,” Science 347, 519-522 (2015).
  2. Y. L. Geng, T. Ablekim, M. A. Koten, M. Weber, K. Lynn, and J. E. Shield, “Defect generation and analysis in mechanically alloyed stoichiometric Fe-Ni alloys,” J. Alloys and Compounds 633, 250-255 (2015).
  3. X. Liu, J. D. Burton, M. Ye. Zhuravlev, and E. Y. Tsymbal, “Electric control of spin injection into a ferroelectric semiconductor,” Phys. Rev. Lett. 114, 046601 [5 pages] (2015).
  4. R. He and X. C. Zeng, “Electronic structures and electronic spectra of all-boron fullerene B40,” Chem. Commun. 51, 3185-3188 (2015).
  5. Y. Hong, L. Li, X. C. Zeng, and J. Zhang, “Tuning thermal contact conductance at graphene–copper interface via surface nanoengineering,” Nanoscale 7, 6286-6294 (2015).
  6. S. Chen, J. Dai, and X. C. Zeng, “Metal–organic Kagome lattices M3(2,3,6,7,10,11-hexaiminotriphenylene)2 (M = Ni and Cu): from semiconducting to metallic by metal substitution,” Phys. Chem. Chem. Phys. 17, 5954-5958 (2015).